John Sayles - Details


The release of his first feature, "Return of the Secaucus Seven (1980)," in 1979 established John Sayles as a leader of the American independent film movement. Over the next twenty years, Sayles went on to write, direct and edit "Lianna (1983}," "Baby It's You (1983)," "The Brother From Another Planet (1984)," "Matewan (1987)," "Eight Men Out (1988)," "City of Hope (1991)," "Passion Fish (1992)," "The Secret of Roan Inish (1994)," "Lone Star (1996)," "Men With Guns (1997)" and "Limbo (1999)."

Sayles has written three novels - Pride of the Bimbos, Union Dues and Los Gusanos –as well as a collection of short stories entitled The Anarchists' Convention and a book about the filmmaking process, Thinking in Pictures.



  • 28th September 1950 - Birth